Jobs in R&D

 

 

Lydie

 

Current position: Laboratory and Greenhouse Technician, Crop Science, La Dargoire

 

Joined Bayer in: 2002

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"There is a real sense of pride when you see a new product go on the market and know that you were one of the first people to handle it, that you worked on the molecule and saw it grow..."

Why did you go into R&D?

When I joined Bayer after graduating with an agronomy degree in bioengineering, I was mainly interested in the practical side of the experimental work. I had done a technical course, I was looking for a manual job and I wanted to work on plants, so crop protection seemed a likely choice. And it naturally led me to Bayer, one of the few companies to combine laboratory and greenhouse work.

 

How does innovation come into your line of work?

I screen molecules. I'm involved right at the beginning of the selection and detection phase, where we nevertheless have to be as close as possible to what would be useful, and therefore marketable, in 10 years. To see that far into the future, we need guidance from Marketing. After that, it's up to us to design tests with new pathogens, based on the scientific literature, and define new protocols with new techniques.

 

What do you think has changed the most?

The resources devoted to user safety and protection have been phenomenal. Fifteen years ago, we confined ourselves to the minimum: lab coat, mask, gloves, etc. But today, we have an automated robot that ensures 100% user safety. It spares us the tasks with no added value and pushes up the processing rate by screening thousands of molecules per year.

 

What does a typical day consist of?

Everyone has their own specialized field in the laboratory. My colleague is helping to develop robotic tools, while I focus on developing new methodologies with fungi and plants. We each switch between the routine screening work, using the same operating method, and our specialized field: in my case, setting up these new protocols. We've found the perfect balance!

 

You're involved very early in the chain. How do you stay motivated?

There is a real sense of pride when you see a new product go on the market and know that you were one of the first people to work on the molecule, that you saw it grow... That's when you see the purpose behind our work. Even more so when the farmers are happy with it. Today we manage to produce effective solutions with doses that are 10 times smaller than 20 years ago, and we're still making progress.

 

So what qualities does it take to work in R&D?

Curiosity is the watchword. Also the ability to regularly challenge what you do by nurturing a critical, scientific mind. It's a complex job, where it takes a long time to get results. You also have to believe in what you're doing and not get disheartened or see failure as a waste of time. The important thing in research is to be able to bounce back and make a fresh start!

Job Search

Application status

Contact us

Last update: Mar 7, 2016   Copyright © Bayer AG

Les métiers de la R&D

 

 

Lydie

 

Poste actuel : Technicienne de laboratoire et de serre, Bayer Crop Science

 

Site : Centre de Recherche de La Dargoire (CRLD), Lyon (69)

 

Entrée chez Bayer : 2002

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

« Il y a une vraie fierté à voir un nouveau produit commercialisé, quand on a été l’un des premiers à l’avoir eu entre les mains, que l’on a travaillé sur la molécule, qu’on l’a vu grandir... »

Pourquoi vous êtes-vous orientée vers la R&D ?

En entrant chez Bayer après mon DUT d’Agronomie en génie biologique, je voulais surtout « maniper ». J’avais fait des études techniques, je voulais un métier manuel et travailler sur le végétal, ce qui m’a assez vite orientée vers la protection des cultures. Et donc vers Bayer, l’un des rares à combiner laboratoire et serre.

 

Comment se traduit l’innovation à votre niveau ?

Je fais du screening de molécules. J’interviens au tout début de la phase de sélection et de détection, où nous devons malgré tout être au plus près de ce qui serait utile, donc commercialisable, dans 10 ans. Pour anticiper autant, nous sommes aidés par le Marketing. A nous ensuite de créer des tests avec de nouveaux pathogènes en nous inspirant de littératures scientifiques, et de définir de nouveaux protocoles avec de nouvelles techniques.

 

Qu’est-ce qui a le plus évolué à vos yeux ?

Les moyens déployés pour la sécurité et la protection de l’utilisateur ont été phénoménaux. Si, il y a 15 ans, on se limitait au minimum (blouse, masque, gants…), aujourd’hui, nous avons un robot automatisé avec une sécurité utilisateur de 100%. Il nous libère de tâches sans valeur ajoutée et permet d’avoir un débit de traitement plus important en criblant plusieurs milliers de molécules par an.

 

De quoi est fait votre quotidien ?

Chacun sa spécialité au laboratoire. Mon collègue participe au développement d’outils robotiques et je me concentre sur le développement de nouvelles méthodologies avec des champignons et des plantes. Chacun jongle ainsi entre la routine du screening, au même mode opératoire, et, pour ma part, la mise en place de ces nouveaux protocoles. L’équilibre est donc parfait !

 

Vous intervenez très en amont de la chaîne. Comment restez-vous motivée ?

Il y a une vraie fierté à voir un nouveau produit commercialisé quand on a été l’un des premiers à travailler sur la molécule, qu’on l’a vue grandir... Notre travail prend alors tout son sens. C’est encore plus vrai quand les agriculteurs sont satisfaits. On réussit aujourd’hui à avoir des solutions efficaces avec des doses 10 fois plus faibles qu’il y a une vingtaine d’années, et les progrès se poursuivent.

 

Quelles sont finalement les qualités requises en R&D ?

La curiosité est le maître mot, comme la capacité à se remettre en question régulièrement en cultivant un esprit critique et scientifique. C’est un métier complexe, aux délais longs, il faut aussi croire en ce que l’on fait et ne pas se décourager ou considérer l’échec comme une perte de temps. L’enjeu de la recherche, c’est de savoir rebondir !

Voir les Offres

Accès à votre profil

Suivez nous sur ...

Contactez nous

Last update: 7 mars 2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://career.bayer.fr/opencms/opencms/fr/people-at-bayer/jobs-bayer/jobs-in-rd/