Jobs in industry

 

 

Mohamed

 

Current position: Production Manager, Crop Science, Marle

 

Joined Bayer in: 2003

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"Working in a production plant is very down-to-earth. Every day you are producing things, carrying out projects, managing problems, etc."

You've been with Bayer for 12 years now. Were you cut out for manufacturing?

I did my final internship in 2003 in what was then the Global Packaging Department in Vaise (Lyon), when Bayer took over Aventis CropScience. I was subsequently recruited by the industrial facility in Villefranche to organize the return of certain volumes packaged by subcontractors. I then worked in the Global Packaging Department in Monheim (Germany) as support for the packing and packaging component, at the Villefranche and Marle facilities, which I was not familiar with. So I've always had some connection with manufacturing, even though it was not my original intention.

 

The turning point came three years ago, when you returned to France and more specifically to Marle...

I wanted to get some experience in a more operational role. I began with developing the production methods, then went on to set up a new department - Operational Excellence - which is now being used by all of the facility's departments. More recently, I was given the opportunity to become Production Manager.

Being at the center of a plant, with such a wide variety of professional fields, allowed me to dig deeper into the people aspect of management, not just the project angle. And then, working in a production plant is very down-to-earth. Every day you are producing goods, carrying out projects, managing problems, etc.

 

There is a lot to say about the resources Bayer allocates to R&D. What is the situation for its production plants?

Each facility is allocated an annual budget to buy equipment and invest. At Marle, we can propose investments that are rapidly profitable, so we have received substantial financing over the last four years. The facility has cutting-edge packaging technology: mainly automated lines with new-generation robots, which helps make us competitive.

 

And yet there is this lingering idea that working in a production plant carries less prestige than working in the headquarters...

That's not so at Bayer. On an industrial site like ours, there are very real opportunities to learn several professions and be involved in the innovation process and in mid-term industrial strategy. A production plant has to be constantly evolving to stay competitive. It's very motivating and makes you feel you're contributing to its overall success...

Job Search

Application status

Contact us

Last update: Mar 7, 2016   Copyright © Bayer AG

Les métiers de l'industrie

 

 

Mohamed

 

Poste actuel : Directeur de la Production, Bayer Crop Science

 

Site : Marle (02)

 

Entrée chez Bayer : 2003

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

« Travailler dans une usine, c’est très concret. On est tous les jours dans la réalisation, la mise en œuvre de projets, la gestion de problèmes… »

Vous êtes chez Bayer depuis 12 ans. Etiez-vous taillé pour le monde industriel ?

J’avais fait mon stage de fin d’études en 2003 au sein de l’ancien département Packaging Global à Vaise, au moment du rachat d’Aventis Crop Science par Bayer. Par la suite, j’ai eu l’opportunité d’être recruté sur le site industriel de Villefranche pour organiser le rapatriement de certains volumes conditionnés en sous-traitance. J’ai ensuite travaillé au département Développement Packaging Global à Monheim (Allemagne) en support pour la partie emballage et conditionnement, aux sites de Villefranche et de Marle, que je ne connaissais pas. De fait, j’ai toujours eu un pied dans le monde industriel, même si, à l’origine, ce n’était pas mon idée première.

 

Le virage s’est fait il y a 3 ans, quand vous êtes revenu en France, à Marle justement…

J’avais envie d’une expérience plus opérationnelle. J’ai d’abord développé les méthodes de production avant de créer un nouveau département – l’Excellence Opérationnelle, aujourd’hui utilisé par tous les services du site. Plus récemment, j’ai eu l’opportunité de prendre la Direction de la Production.

Etre au cœur d’une usine, avec une telle diversité de métiers, m’a permis d’aborder plus profondément la dimension humaine du management, et pas seulement sous l’angle projet. Et puis, travailler dans une usine, c’est très concret. On est tous les jours dans la réalisation, la mise en œuvre de projets, la gestion de problèmes à résoudre …

 

On parle beaucoup des moyens mis à disposition par Bayer pour la R&D, qu’en est-il pour ses usines ?

Chaque site dispose d’une enveloppe budgétaire annuelle pour s’équiper et investir. A Marle, nous sommes capables de proposer des investissements rapidement rentables, ce qui a permis ces 4 dernières années de bénéficier de financements importants. Le site est à la pointe de la technologie en matière de conditionnement, notamment grâce à nos lignes automatisées avec de nouvelles générations de robots, ce qui favorise notre compétitivité.

 

Pourtant, plane toujours cette idée que « travailler en usine » est moins valorisant que d’être au Siège…

Ce n’est pas le cas chez Bayer. Les opportunités d’apprendre plusieurs métiers, d’être impliqué dans le processus d’innovation et dans la stratégie industrielle à moyen terme sont réelles sur un site industriel comme le nôtre. L’usine exige d’être toujours en mouvement pour rester compétitif. C’est très motivant et donne la sensation d’apporter sa pierre à l’édifice…

 

Voir les Offres

Accès à votre profil

Suivez nous sur ...

Contactez nous

Last update: 7 mars 2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://career.bayer.fr/opencms/opencms/fr/people-at-bayer/jobs-bayer/jobs-in-industry/