Ethics and diversity

 

 

Zita

 

Current position: Head of the sheltered workshop,

Bayer Crop Science, Marle

 

Joined Bayer in: 1998

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 "People are still afraid of disability and this sheltered workshop is a way of raising awareness of difference, whatever form it takes."

What path has your career taken in the Bayer Group?

In 1998, I applied for a summer job at the Marle production plant. After that, I worked as a production line foreman. Then, eight years ago, I was offered a job supervising disabled workers on the packaging lines. I immediately accepted.

 

What were your reasons for accepting this job?

I could tie it in with my initial training (I have a baccalaureate in medical welfare), which had a strong focus on disability and welfare issues. And I was already aware that everyone could be affected by disability, so it was important for me to be able to take part in this initiative, put prejudice behind me and help. People are still afraid of disability and this sheltered workshop is also a way of raising awareness of difference, whatever form it takes.

 

What are your main job roles?

I'm in charge of the plant's two sheltered workshops, which represent up to around 40 people. Depending on the orders and our requirements, I call on the services of sheltered workshops (1) or companies that employ a disabled workforce: we contract work out to two centers in particular. Some people have more severe disabilities. They are accompanied by a special-needs teacher and do small-scale packaging at a table. Other more autonomous workers have a wider variety of tasks (order preparation, distribution). I approve each step, check the quality and take care of logistics and tracking.

 

How does Bayer help disabled workers find employment?

The Marle facility has been employing disabled workers for nearly 30 years. A lot of progress has been made. Today, all of the workstations in the sheltered workshop have been adapted to accommodate the various disabilities and access has been improved, so each worker can work in the best possible conditions. To avoid creating a barrier between the disabled workers and the other teams, and to encourage interaction, a mechanized packaging line has been installed in the same building. It's important for Bayer to draw employees' attention to disability issues. We need concrete actions... and that's what we're doing in Marle!

 

(1)   Known in France as an ESAT, or Etablissement et Service d’Aide par le Travail. This is a medical/welfare organization that provides work for disabled people who could not work in any other situation, along with medical and welfare support.

Job Search

Application status

Contact us

Last update: Mar 7, 2016   Copyright © Bayer AG

L'éthique et la diversité

 

 

Zita

 

Poste actuel : Responsable de l’atelier protégé, Bayer Crop Science

 

Site : Marle (02)

 

Entrée chez Bayer :1998

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

« Le handicap continue de faire peur et cet atelier protégé est une manière de sensibiliser à la différence, quelle qu’elle soit. »

Quel est votre parcours au sein du groupe Bayer ?

J’ai postulé en 1998, comme saisonnière à la production du site de Marle. J’ai ensuite été chef de ligne. Et il y a 8 ans, on m’a proposée d’encadrer des travailleurs handicapés sur les lignes d’emballage. J’ai tout de suite accepté.

 

Pour quelles raisons ?

Je pouvais alors faire le lien avec ma formation de départ – j’ai un bac en sciences médico-sociales – où les questions de handicap et sociales étaient très présentes. Et puis, j’étais déjà consciente que tout le monde pouvait être concerné par le handicap. C’était donc important pour moi de pouvoir participer à cette action, d’aller au-delà des préjugés et d’aider. Le handicap continue de faire peur et cet atelier protégé est aussi une manière de sensibiliser à la différence, quelle qu’elle soit.

 

Quelles sont vos principales missions ?

Je suis responsable des deux ateliers protégés de l’usine, ce qui représente jusqu’à une quarantaine de personnes. Selon les commandes et nos besoins, je fais appel à des ESAT (1) ou des Entreprises Adaptées, dont deux centres avec lesquels nous travaillons pour des missions de sous-traitance. Certaines personnes ont des handicaps plus lourds. Ils arrivent ensemble avec un éducateur spécialisé et font du petit emballage autour d’une table. D’autres sont plus autonomes et leurs tâches, plus variées (préparation de commandes, distribution). Je valide chaque étape, contrôle la qualité, et je m’occupe de la logistique et du suivi.

 

Comment Bayer favorise l’intégration des Travailleurs Handicapés ?

Le site de Marle emploie des travailleurs handicapés depuis près de 30 ans. Cela a beaucoup évolué. Aujourd’hui, tous les postes de l’atelier protégé sont aménagés et adaptés aux différents handicaps et l’accessibilité a été améliorée. Chacun peut donc travailler dans les meilleures conditions possibles. Pour ne pas créer de frontière avec les autres équipes et favoriser les échanges, une ligne d’emballage mécanisée a été installée dans le même local. C’est important pour Bayer d’attirer l’attention des collaborateurs sur ces questions de diversité. Il faut des actions concrètes et c’est ce que nous faisons à Marle !

 

(1)   Etablissement et service d’aide par le travail. C’est un organisme médico-social chargé de la mise au travail, accompagné d’un soutien médical et social, des personnes handicapées dans l’impossibilité de travailler dans un autre cadre.

Voir les Offres

Accès à votre profil

Suivez nous sur ...

Contactez nous

Last update: 7 mars 2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://career.bayer.fr/opencms/opencms/fr/people-at-bayer/bayer-commitments/ethics-diversity/